Design now…build later

Since I won’t be building the new railroad for at least 8 more months, it gives me plenty of time to work with SCARM, the Simple Computer Aided Railway Modeler. Its a nice program that really lets you design just about everything, from the actual track plan right down to railcars that can be placed to show what it will look like.

I have done some screen shots of the 3D view to share what I have been working on.

Lets take a look at Drachus Fuel and Oil. Now I can’t take credit for the building, the tank cars or the fence as they were done by folks with much more artistic talent than I have. My contribution to this scene are the fuel tanks sitting trackside.

Deachuse Fuel & Oil

Next up from my old stomping grounds is the Duffy-Motts factory. There are six car spots, three for box cars and three for reefers. So when operations  begin, it’ll be important to get the right car at the right door.

In this picture I made the structure, the windows and the loading doors, complete with overhead door assemblies.

Duffy-Motts

Just in front of Duffy Motts is Frog Hollow Trailer Park. Only three trailers designed so far. I envision having a lot of fun  with this area.  4 x 4 trucks, clothes hanging on lines, topless honeys sun bathing back by the tracks, maybe even a drunken brawl some where. Oh and hound dogs!

Frog Hollow Trailer Park

Last but certainly not least, my favorite design so far, Dukes Cold Nose Brown Ale Brewery.

Building in front will hold 4 covered hoppers while the structure in back can handle 6 box cars.

Dukes Cold Nose Brown Ale

About 90% of this was designed by me. This will likely be the last structure I will actually build on the layout as its quite involved.

So thats just a sample of what I have been doing to get ready for retirement, the move and the new layout. Hope you enjoyed.

3 thoughts on “Design now…build later

  1. Pingback: New update in my personal blog | The Super Model Railroad Blog

  2. I think that you hit the nail on the head. There is no such thing as a get rich scheme or free lunch.If you want to build a solid online business, it would take hard work, dedication and lots of time.At the end of the day, it will be all worth, if its financial freedom you after. I look forward to checking out your site and learning more.RegardsRoopesh

    Like

Leave a comment